T.S. Eliot 1888-1965 ?

Eliot in 1910

Best known works: J. Alfred Prufrock (1917), The Waste Land (1922), The Four Quartets (1935-42).

T.S. Eliot is generally known as 'the' Modernist poet and probably one of the most important poets in the history of English literature. He wrote a number of plays as well, such as Murder in the Cathedral and The Cocktail Party, and a lot of literary criticism, of which the most famous collection is his Selected Essays and much yet remains unpublished.

On this site are the original texts of most of Eliot's poetry up to 1925, some annotated and/or discussed. Also Eliot's collection of essays, The Sacred Wood, and articles on Eliot's development, influences and life, links, a biography, further reading, etc.

Burbank Annotated (in progress)
The Waste Land Annotated (even more in progress)

An older version of this site can be found at http://people.a2000.nl/avanarum/index.html, but this version can no longer be updated and will in time disappear. The version of the site at the current address (which you are watching right now) will as of today (22 jan 2002) be the official, active, up-to-date site:

Arwin van Arum